Most Influential Books Part 1

I have decided to do a short series on the books that have had the most influence on me. I am going to start with one of my favorite authors. C.S. Lewis it is hard to pick just one book of his that has had a major impact on me, but I am restricting myself to only pick one from him. I have read many of his books and I have loved everyone that I have read. My choice for his most influential book on my life is The Screwtape Letters.

The book was first published in 1942. The premise is two demons, one older who is mentoring a younger demon on how to influence a man’s life and make him live for himself and not for God. The book touches me because it shows that Christians fight a spiritual fight it is something that is quite easy to overlook as we go through our everyday life. We fight against dark spiritual forces, the Bible states in Ephesians 6:12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. The Devil is sly and cunning and he deploys his henchmen to try and to get Christians to follow his way instead of Jesus’ way. Screwtape Letters does a great job of describing what that looks like in real life. Even though this book was written over sixty years ago it still resonates with me, because the principles behind the book have not changed.  ““Indeed the safest road to Hell is the gradual one–the gentle slope, soft underfoot, without sudden turnings, without milestones, without signposts,Your affectionate uncle, Screwtape.” This book really gets me to think about my actions and why I am choosing to do what I do. It reminds that I am in a battle everyday, that everyday I have to choose to follow Jesus instead of following what I should not be following. The book really gets into what goes on in a Christian’s head and how Satan is trying to influence him. It’s a great book, I am grateful that C.S. Lewis wrote it.

What are some of the books that have influenced you the most?

Leave a Reply

